

Announcing The 2017 GLOBE Robert J. House Best Research Paper Award

The GLOBE (Global Leadership and Organizational Behavior Effectiveness) Project is pleased to announce the Robert J. House Best Paper Award, sponsored by University of Victoria's Peter B. Gustavson School of Business. The GLOBE award will honor an outstanding recent dissertation-based article/paper, or any other published paper on leadership, societal or organizational culture using the GLOBE database, GLOBE research tools, GLOBE leadership or GLOBE culture theory. Manuscript topics may include leadership, organizational behavior, organization theory, strategic management, corporate social responsibility, ethics, or any other organizational relevant topic. The recipient of the award will receive a US\$ 2,500 cash prize and will be normally honored at the GLOBE meeting at the appropriate Academy of Management Annual Meeting or the Academy of International Business Annual Meeting.

Criteria for submission:

• A dissertation-based paper (either single or multiple authored—with the doctoral student as the first author) must be based on a doctoral dissertation completed within the past 3 years.

• A non-dissertation paper (published or unpublished) could also be either single or a multiple authored paper. It should be based on GLOBE data, using GLOBE's instruments and/or theoretical frameworks. If, published, it should have appeared in a peer reviewed journal within the past 3 years.

• The paper makes a significant contribution to the research knowledge in the field of global leadership and/or cross- cultural research.

• It should incorporate relevant theoretical and empirical literature.

• The methodology and data analysis should adequately test engaging research questions.

• The discussion should highlight the theoretical, empirical and practical contributions and suggest future research directions for global leadership and cross-cultural research.

• The paper should logically, succinctly, and clearly present ideas.

Submission deadline: September 30, 2017. The following guidelines will be used to ensure consistent submissions by candidates

• If a published paper:

o Please submit a Portable Document Format (PDF) version. To facilitate the blind review process of a published paper, the name of the candidate (s), institutional affiliation, current mailing address, and phone number will be erased;

• If an unpublished paper:

o The documents submitted (title page, abstract, main text, figures, tables, references, etc.) must be in PDF form.



o The maximum length is 40 pages inclusive of title page, abstract, and text. Tables, figures, appendices, and references are excluded from this count.

o Submissions should be prepared in accordance with the guidelines provided in the sixth edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.

o To facilitate the blind review process, the name of the candidate (s), institutional affiliation, current mailing address, and phone number should only appear on the title page.

• If the submission is based on a dissertation, the candidate must provide official evidence of the date of dissertation/doctoral studies completion.

•The Committee requires the curricula vitae (CVs) of all the names associated with submitted papers.

•The candidate(s) should submit all materials to the email address of the Committee Chair (n.ashkanasy@uq.edu.au)

• In the case of a dissertation-based paper, do not submit the actual dissertation.

• The cheque will be made up to the author of the winning paper (or first author of a multi-authored paper). The winning paper will be notified by December 15, 2017.

In the absence of a paper deemed deserving of the award, the award may be withheld.

Committee members: Neal M. Ashkanasy (Committee Chair), Professor of Management, UQ Business School, The University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia; Paul Hanges, Professor of Industrial Organization Psychology, Department of Psychology, University of Maryland, MD, USA; and Peter W. Dorfman, (Past President of GLOBE and Past Board's Chair) Professor Emeritus, New Mexico State University, USA.